Chapel-en-le Frith Tea Concerts

 The Pleyel Ensemble present a new Series of Afternoon Tea Concerts.

Next Concert 28th May 2017

Sunday Afternoons at 3.00

Methodist Church, Market Street, Chapel-en-le-Frith SK23 0JD

 We will be playing a wide variety of beautiful chamber music and with Sarah’s wonderful cakes available at the interval, what better way to spend an hour or two on a Sunday afternoon?

May 28th 2017 A programme of piano trios including Schubert’s wonderful Bb major trio and a beautiful work by the Danish composer and friend of Mendelssohn and Schumann, Niels Gade. Spring has arrived in Chapel-en-le-Frith so come and celebrate it with Sarah, Heather and Harvey!

Buy Tickets 28th May 2017

TICKETS £10 and FREE for under 16s available from Reading Matters, Market St., Chapel-en-le-Frith or online from the link above.


Previous Concerts

May 3rd 2015    Schumann’s intimate and special Fantaisiestücke, Op. 88 for piano, violin & ‘cello, Mozart’s brilliant piano & violin sonata in C, K. 296 and Arensky’s luscious piano trio, Op. 32 completes our first programme.

July 5th 2015    We begin with a work by our namesake, Ignaz Pleyel, the sparkling piano trio in G major, continue with Elgar’s extraordinary and poignant violin sonata written at the end of WW1 and conclude with Mendelssohn’s gorgeous 1st trio in D minor, Op. 49.

May 22nd 2016   Haydn’s best known trio, the Gypsy Rondo, John Ireland’s 2nd piano trio written during WW1 and Dvorak’s folk-inspired Dumky Trio, Op. 90, complete an exciting programme for our first visit of 2016 to Chapel. 

July 3rd 2016   We present another programme of piano trios with a WW2 work composed on a ship in the Channel between 1941 and 1944 by the English composer Arnold Cooke alongside Mozart’s heavenly trio in Bb, K. 502 and Beethoven’s youthful trio in G, Op. 1, no. 2. 

October 30th 2016  Music for string trio by Beethoven, romantic Hungarian composer Ernö Dohnanyi and Czech composer Bohuslav Martinu. Sarah Ewins: violin.  Susie Mészáros: viola.  Heather Bills: cello.  

5th March 2017   The first concert of 2017 includes trios by Haydn and Mendelssohn, his turbulent and glorious Trio in C minor, Op. 66. A tour-de-force for the pianist, this virtuosic work is some of Mendelssohn’s best chamber music. Also includes Martinu’s Variations on a Slovak Theme for ‘cello and piano. Sarah Ewins: violin  Heather Bills: cello and Harvey Davies: piano.

2nd April 2017  It’s a delight to welcome the Northern Chamber Orchestra’s Principal horn Naomi Atherton to join us to play the Brahms Horn Trio, Op. 40 with its tragic and beautiful slow movement written in memory of the composer’s mother.  Naomi and Harvey will also play the Sonata for horn and piano by Beethoven, Op. 17, an early work written for himself and the finest horn player of his day, Giovanni Punto. The programme is completed with Mozart’s wonderful Sonata in Bb for violin and piano, K. 454.